UPDATE: April 20, 2018 – The State of Alaska has formally designated 25 Opportunity Zones, with the Haines Borough being one of them, as part of a federal program designed to drive long-term capital to distressed communities. Read more in this announcement from the state Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. 


The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development is solicited input regarding the designation of Opportunity Zones in Alaska (read more at this link). Created as part of the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, the Opportunity Zones Program is designed to drive long-term capital to distressed communities by providing tax benefits on investments. HEDC and the Haines Borough worked together and each submitted input on this program. Read HEDC’s submission here.